News & Media

EnergyUnited Selects Brett Alkins as Next Chief Operating Officer

Provided by EnergyUnited on August 30, 2022 —

Statesville, NC – EnergyUnited has selected Brett Alkins to serve as the cooperative’s next chief operating officer (COO), effective August 29. The position was previously held by Thomas Golden, before he was selected by the EnergyUnited Board of Directors to succeed Wayne Wilkins as the cooperative’s chief executive officer.

Alkins’ tenure with EnergyUnited began in 2015 as C&I sales manager. He was later promoted to director of sales and marketing and most recently served on the cooperative’s executive leadership team (ELT) as vice president of energy services. Prior to joining EnergyUnited, Alkins led various growth initiatives at Clean Energy, Caterpillar and Johnson Matthey. In these positions, he also gained valuable experience in business development, strategic planning and product management.

“Brett has been an incredible asset for EnergyUnited as he served in multiple positions over the past seven years,” said Thomas Golden, chief executive officer of EnergyUnited. “His outstanding business intelligence and demonstrated propensity for leveraging data to make member-focused decisions will serve him well in this new role.”

As COO, Alkins will continue to serve on the ELT and will report directly to the CEO. He will be responsible for partnering with the ELT to develop growth and value opportunities, to enhance operations and to maintain the cooperative’s superior safety performance. Additionally, Alkins will lead the cooperative in the pursuit of its mission and vision. Specifically, he will be deeply involved in developing, implementing and communicating the cooperative’s strategic plan. His team will include energy delivery, information technology, energy services and communications.

About EnergyUnited
EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina serving over 135,000 metering points. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit to learn more about the cooperative’s energy services and community programs.

Provided by EnergyUnited