News & Media

The Charlotte Observer Names EnergyUnited A Winner of Top Workplaces 2023 Award

Provided by EnergyUnited

EnergyUnited has been awarded a Top Workplaces 2023 honor by The Charlotte Observer. The list is based solely on employee feedback gathered through a third-party survey administered by research partner, Energage, LLC, a leading provider of technology-based employee engagement tools. The anonymous survey measures several aspects of workplace culture, including alignment, execution, and connection, just to name a few.

“As a local, not-for-profit electric cooperative, EnergyUnited is honored to be named one of the Charlotte Observer’s Top Workplaces in 2023,” said Thomas Golden, chief executive officer of EnergyUnited. “Our team of skilled experts is committed to the organization’s goal of providing safe, reliable, affordable and sustainable energy to cooperative members. This shared spirit of service inspires continual improvement, innovative solutions and a positive, collaborative culture that is valued by all across the organization.”

EnergyUnited officials credit the cooperative’s unique culture as the primary driver of employee satisfaction and its exemplary corporate performance. The culture is anchored by four principles that establish a clear standard for the way in which the cooperative chooses to do business.

The EnergyUnited Way of doing business prioritizes four fundamental principles,” said Pam Britt, chief human resources officer at EnergyUnited. “We encourage our employees each day to be safe, to be secure, to be present and to be member-focused. Safety is always top of mind for our employees, while our members are at the heart of each of our policies, programs and initiatives.”

About EnergyUnited   EnergyUnited Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) is the largest electric cooperative in North Carolina with 139,736 member connections. Headquartered in Statesville, EnergyUnited provides electric service in portions of nineteen counties in west central North Carolina which include Alexander, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Stokes, Wilkes and Yadkin. Visit to learn more about the cooperative’s energy services and community programs.